kswathwood

Just another WordPress.com site

Facebook and preserving memories

I’m not the best at journaling, I’ll admit it. I love expressing myself and getting my thoughts out, but when I start to physically write something, it almost seems like too much of an effort and I end up saying less than I mean to say or not adequately conveying my thoughts. Typing is a lot better and allows me to phrase myself better, but I still hardly ever take the time to sit down and type up a journal entry. In fact, this blog is probably the closest I’ve come to a journal in a while. I wish I did it more, but at this point in time, I just don’t have the time.

However, I find it very easy to update my status on Facebook (don’t we all?). I honestly really enjoy it when I can come up with a status that’s either interesting or entertaining. Getting “likes” and comments is a tiny little bit of validation that people enjoy what I have to say. That’s not to say that I’m one of those people who change their status on the hour, share way too much personal information on their status, or feel  the need to announce, in detail, what their plans are for the day. But I like to share if I’m doing something fun, interesting, or exciting, or if I have a random thought or experience that I want to share. In that way, Facebook has become a sort of journal, with its little anecdotes from my life all collected together. Add to that the fact that my life is also documented in pictures on Facebook, and I can look back on all sorts of good memories with ease. (It helps that there’s no pictures of me with red Solo cups on there…I lead a pretty tame life.)

I do want to get back in the habit of keeping a REAL journal, but for now, Facebook can serve as a temporary home for my random thoughts and memories. Who knows, maybe when I get forced into Timeline I’ll take a minute or two to look back on what I posted a few years ago. That should be interesting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 15, 2012 by .
